Official Website of Russell Fine Author of
Future World History Trilogy
​Frank Carver Mysteries
The California Experiment

The China Strategy
The Eternity Gene


  • Facebook


Select "View On Amazon" to purchase a book.
Scroll down to view all of my books.



Future World History

Book 1


Future World History

Book 2


Future World History

Book 3


Frank Carver Mysteries

Frank Carver Mysteries

Volume 2

The California Experiment


The China Strategy




The Eternity Gene

About The Books

Future World History

The year is 3504. Realizing schools no longer taught history, and discovering that his children were completely ignorant of the incredible history of the Earth, the author takes it upon himself to enlighten them by writing about the history of Earth from the early 21st century to the year 2500. During that period, the people of Earth experienced revolutionary changes in every facet of their lives. They eliminated their need for fossil fuels, cured almost every disease, formed a world government, and developed the ability to travel to other solar systems. All these changes can be traced back to a single invention created in 2024. Book 1 covers the first 100 years of this incredible story.

Book 2 starts with exploration of Procolt 2, an Earth-like planet 27 light years distant. There, the explorers discover the first non-humanoid intelligent beings in the galaxy. The relationship with these beings enables Earth to become the most powerful member in an interplanetary trade association in less than 15 years. During this period the couple who were in charge of the mission to Procolt 2 decide to stay there. They start by building a resort, which becomes very successful, and attracted visitors from other planets in the trade association. As the word spreads about Procolt 2, the population grows. But, not everyone is pleased with the success of the planet. The book ends with a terrorist attack on the resort.

In the final book in the series, we find out how the terrorist attack on Procolt 2 was thwarted, and how the scientists and engineers from Procolt 2 save the lives of millions of people on Earth. We also learn about the oldest known civilization in our galaxy and discover how they managed the development of all humanoid civilizations, including Earth.  

Frank Carver Mysteries

Both Frank Carver books contain short stories and each story is its own mystery. The main characters in the stories remain the same. So, as you continue reading you get to learn more about them. Each story contains a bit of science fiction or fantasy. Below is a synopsis of Backfire, the first Frank Carver mystery.

Frank Carver has been a member of the Norfolk County police department for six years. Prior to joining the police department, he worked in Army Intelligence. He has just been promoted, and now he is their only homicide detective. Before he starts in his new position, he takes some of his unused vacation time. While he is gone, two bodies have mysteriously appeared in locked motel rooms. The day he returns from vacation, a third body is found. The case is perplexing, but there are some similarities that all of the victims share; they were all males; they were all naked; and each victim was missing a part of their body. Additionally, no clothing or other personal items were found in any of the rooms. This case is unlike anything Frank has ever worked on, or even heard about. It will take skill, logic, and little luck to solve it.

The California Experiment

The democrats have just lost their second presidential election in a row, and the republicans now control the House and Senate. Unable to control his rage, a California billionaire, who has control of the California legislature, decides it is time for California to leave the United States and become an independent country. He makes it happen, but despite all his plans for the future of California, he doesn't manage to create the utopia he expected. 

The China Strategy

The next presidential election was only months away, and the minority party was determined to regain power at any cost. Four of the most influential members of that party were approached by the head of the Chinese Biological Warfare group. He assured them if they assisted him with his plan to unleash a new virus in the United States, he would provide them with the tools they needed to topple the current administration. They initially agreed, but quickly discovered when you make a deal with the devil, you’re going to get burned.




I started writing after I retired in 2013. I spent most of my working career in various technical and engineering positions. Part of my job was to write technical manuals and user guides. But I always wanted to write something that people would actually want to read.

My first attempt was the first book in the Future World History trilogy. After working with a publisher and professional editor the book the book was substantially improved, and my writing skills improved as well. I finished the trilogy in 2018.

As a result of my membership in a local authors group I began to write short stories. The ultimate result is two Frank Carver Mystery novels. The first book contains six short stories, and Volume II contains five short stories and a novella. The same group of primary characters are in every story.

I have also written two books in the Political Fiction genre. The first was The California Experiment.  This novel tells the story of what happens when California decides to secede from the United States and become the country of California. The second book, which I started in December, 2019 (before anyone knew about COVID) is about China releasing a virus in the United States. This is the first Frank Carver novel. The title is The China Strategy.

Then I wrote, Janus, it is a continuation of the Future World History trilogy. Many of the people who read the trilogy wanted to know what happen next. This book answers all their questions.

I made the decision to concentrate on my Frank Carver novels. The Eternity Gene was published in the summer of 2021 and I completed Dreamscape in the spring of 2022. You can read descriptions of both books in the Books section.  


Contact Information

Thank you for visiting my website. I hope you found it to be both interesting and entertaining.

If you have any questions or comments about my books or short stories please send me a message at:

Short Stories

Over the years I have written many short stories. I will add new ones regularly, and if you like my Facebook page you will be informed every time I add a new one. I hope you enjoy them all.